Despite the high cost of living, it remains a popular option

35 years ago today my lovely young fiancée and I got married in Omaha, Nebraska. It was the second and last time I’d visited that city, as far as I can recall from this remove. Having now gotten well over the threshold of a new millennium, I must express my appreciation and love to my still-lovely wife for putting up with me so long. Double or nothing, hon?

Three-and-a-half decades is a considerable time, yet we haven’t reached half of my great aunt Clara’s and great uncle Charles’ 75 years together. That won’t happen for another 5 years. There are couples who have reached their 80th anniversaries, but it’s rare. I hope we can meet up for a joint 40/80 celebration. My folks will be at 62 that year. We’ll have to mark their 60th a little late, I guess.

Leave a comment

Filed under relationships

Leave a Reply

